Granny Sally.

Life can be hard, really hard. I think one of the most difficult things we have to do is say goodbye. A week and half ago I had to do just that to one of the most beautiful, strong and inspiring people I’ve ever had the privilege of knowing, my Granny Sally.

IMG_5173

I remember spending my sixth birthday with her in South Africa. We had a superhero dress up party (I was Batman.) with all my cousins and the kids in the community a massive jumping castle for the whole day as well as yummy food and heaps of activities! I had a pretty difficult young life and this was for sure one of the biggest highlights and I will always be grateful.

When I was that age I was obsessed with Top Gun, okay I’ll be honest… I’m still obsessed with Top Gun, but Granny Sal used to always call me Maverick Ponchocho, I have no idea where the Ponchocho came from, but I like it. I remember getting a little bored when I was over there and I was making paper planes, so sally decided to make a competition out of it. We set up a time and date got a bunch of other kids to partake in the event. We had this big competition testing all different planes to see how far they could go, how high and how fast. I spent the entire week making planes and testing them out and granny sally was constantly bringing me more paper, I must have driven her nuts but she always made me feel special and important no matter what I was doing.

But above all three things stand out to me, how strong she was and also how supportive she is and how much she has taught me about marriage and life. When I decided to change my name both my South African grandparents were one of the first to support my decision and encourage me in it. She has always encouraged me to do my best and keep going even if it’s a struggle and is one of the most supportive family members I have. I can’t thank her enough for all the love and support she has given and I can only hope to do her proud.

She has also been battling lymphoma for as long as I can remember. Throughout all of her sickness she has always been very selfless and giving and caring of others. She was always sewing something for somebody else or doing some other crafting activity and whenever I spoke to her she never complained to me about her sickness, even though I could tell how much of a burden it must have been for her. Thank you for teaching me how to be truly selfless and giving.

IMG_5167

Granny Sal and my Grandpa Don have truly shown me what a marriage can be, I’ve never seen a more beautiful couple and I’m so thankful I got to be a part of their lives and witness how to love another person but also to have fun and enjoy life together. Thank you for showing me what is really important in life, I won’t forget.

Granny Sal I hope that while you are looking down from heaven that I can make you proud, thank you for everything. I love and miss you so much.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Granny Sally.

  1. Amazing. A lot of love has been put into this. Although this must have been a hard blog to write about, it really shows that she shaped you to the man you are now. She will continue to shine through you mate and every memory of her you get is her breathing more life and love into you. Keep writing as it’s so obvious that it is a passion and one that she would have encouraged and I’m sure was your biggest fan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

